EuroVelo Network

About the EuroVelo Network

EuroVelo is a network of 17 long distance cycle routes connecting and uniting the whole European continent.  The routes can be used by cycle tourists as well as by local people making daily journeys.

The  objectives of EuroVelo are:

  • promotes economically, environmentally and socially sustainable travel;
  • improves the quality of EuroVelo routes in all participating European countries;
  • promotes the uniform signing of EuroVelo routes in accordance with published standards;
  • provides Europe-wide information on EuroVelo routes and national cycle routes;
  • supports the development of national coordination centres for EuroVelo route and national routes; and
  • fosters exchange of experience and best practice between European states and regions, stimulating high quality cycle strategies and infrastructure.

EuroVelo implementation and quality assurance is coordinated by the European Cyclists’ Federation (ECF) in collaboration with National EuroVelo Coordination Centres and Coordinators (NECC/Cs). In Portugal the NECC/C is the Portuguese Federation of Cycletourism and Bicycle Users (FPCUB).

EuroVelo Network – the routes

The name and the lenght of each one of the EuroVelo routes  and the total lenght of the routes in Europe are listed below.

North – South Routes:

1 – Atlantic Coast Route: North Cape – Sagres (8.186 km)
3 – Pilgrims’ Route: Trondheim – Santiago de Compostela (5.122 km)
5 – Via Romea Francigena: London – Rome and Brindisi (3.900 km)
7 – Sun Route: North Cape – Malta (7.409 km)
9 – Baltic – Adriatic: Gdansk – Pula (1.930 km)
11 – East Europe Route: North Cape – Athens (5.984 km)
13 – Iron Curtain Trail: Barents Sea – Black Sea (10.400 km)
15 – Rhine Route: Andermatt – Hoek van Holland (1.320 km)
17 – Rhone Route: Andermatt – Mediterranean (1.115 km)

West – East Routes:

2 – Capitals Route: Galway – Moscow (5.500 km)
4 – Central Europe Route: Roscoff – Kiev (4.000 km)
6 Atlantic – Black Sea: Nantes – Constanta (4.448 km)
8 – Mediterranean Route: Cádiz – Athens and Cyprus (5.888 km)


10 – Baltic Sea Cycle Route – Hansa circuit (7.980 km)
12 – North Sea Cycle Route (5.932 km)

The total length of these routes is over 90.000 kilometers and crosses 42 countries.

For more information about the EuroVelo routes see: